• September 24, 2020, 06:57:08 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Registration is free.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: 1140e Basics  (Read 2995 times)

Offline timfoster

• Rookie
1140e Basics
« on: November 22, 2013, 09:15:59 AM »
Hi, I'm not a telephony engineer by any means, but I have bought a Nortel 1140E handset from eBay that I'd like to setup with my voip provider.

The problem is I have no idea how to get it set up. Thanks to this forum I was able to a factory reset using the RENEWMAC sequence. This stopped it looking for the server from the company it originally came from but I got no further. All I got on my screen was looking for DHCP. After a bit more reading I tried double tapping the services button and got the admin password box, but it doesn't seem to be colorset*

All I have now is F/W Version 0625C60.

I understand that I need a server for it to get the configuration from, but I can't even get it to that point yet.

I have a server running Windows Server 2012 Foundation which (I hope) I can use to configure this handset, and I use Voipfone in the UK as my SIP provider. They provide a LinksysPAP box that has all the config for their service. If I plug a regular handset straight into that box it works fine, but I want to be able to run this Nortel handset in my office at the bottom of the garden. I have network ports in there so I can get the phone on the network (and when I say 'on the network' I mean I can physically plug it in and things light up), but that's as far as I can get.

Can anyone help me with some basics?

Offline Michael McNamara

• Administrator
    • michaelfmcnamara
    • Michael McNamara
Re: 1140e Basics
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 09:25:12 AM »
Hi Tim and welcome to the forums!

I would suggest trying the following default admin password;

C O L O R * S E T

Good Luck!
We've been helping network engineers, system administrators and technology professionals since June 2009.