• December 04, 2020, 09:46:57 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Registration is free.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5  (Read 5646 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Telair

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« on: April 30, 2014, 12:22:00 AM »
Looks like new software for the ERS 4000 crowd is going to be available shortly.  Software v5.6.5 should be available soon on Avaya's web site ( it's not at the moment I am posting).  Looks like it is a bug fix release that seems like it was needed by the descriptions of some of the fixes.  Also, it allows for future releases to have agent images larger than 10MB.  So this is probably going to be a must-have release for support going forward.

Read the changes to the diagnostic loading procedure depending on which 4000 series switches you are using!

Readme is below:
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100179939


Offline maxime.baudin

  • Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 10:19:21 AM »
Hi every one,

I'm getting toubles with this release.

DHCP snooping seems to drop every dhcp responses from my DHCP server.

I checked the 'trusted' parameters on the uplink but still.

The odd thing is that I have no log from the switch about that behaviour (Other switchs, with 5.6.1 release gave me indication about DHCP dropped frames)

Does anyone encountered the problem ?

best regards,
Maxime

Offline imorris

  • Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 05:50:21 PM »
Hi Maxime,

Avaya have released a PSN describing this symptom.  See this thread https://forums.networkinfrastructure.info/nortel-ethernet-switching/psn-stackable-switches-cause-malformed-dhcp-packets-wdhcp-relay-snooping/msg17019/#msg17019 which provides some explanation and a link to the PSN itself.  It is likely that you will need to upgrade your core devices as well.

Cheers

Ian

Offline maxime.baudin

  • Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2014, 10:30:03 AM »
Arg... this is it :(

thanks a lot for this information !

best regards,
Maxime

Offline Guillaume

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2014, 08:44:30 AM »
I'm not getting why the v5.6.5 was released after 5.7 ...

5.7 : 22 nov 2013
5.6.5 : 2 mai 2014

Can someone explain me that one ?

Thanks !

Offline Telair

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2014, 10:00:17 AM »
They are different families of code and can all have releases at some point.  I am most familiar with the ERS 5000 units and their code an will use it to demonstrate, but it follows the exact same idea.

ERS 5000 6.2.x is their "classic" code and the most stable.  Just bug fix releases at this point.

ERS 5000 6.3.x is their "advanced" code with new features and options, but not as time tested as 6.2.x.  Make sure you know what your doing before loading this on production equipment.  Expect bugs to show up as they refine this code family.

ERS 5000 6.6.x is their "experimental" code that involves complete rewrites of the code.  It unlocks exciting new abilities on supported equipment, but leaves backwards compatibility behind.  For loading on lab gear only as it is so new.  No one in their right mind would use this on production gear.  Interesting to watch though to see what they come up with.

So just because you have a release with a higher number doesn't automatically make it the best code to use.  Many companies have decided to stay with the classic code which is the most stable, so they will only care about 6.2.x releases.  I use classic code on the user edge and advanced code in the core, so I look at releases from two code families.

Offline Guillaume

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2014, 10:05:31 AM »
Good to know ! Is there a clear indication to find this out officially on Avaya website ? Or we have to find it out by ourself ?

I would like to have it for the 4000 series.

Offline Telair

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2014, 01:18:15 PM »
It's something you figure out.  Avaya typically works on two, maybe three code streams at any one time.  The older stream is the "classic" code stream.  The newer code stream tends to be more about changing specific things about how the code works and adds new features.

Offline MatzeKS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
    • matzeks
    • Controlware GmbH - Germany
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2014, 02:42:33 AM »
------------------------------------------------------
ACE-Fx #00050

Offline adohen

  • Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2014, 11:46:16 AM »
I'm running 5.8 on all my ERS switches and a good portion of them are running SPB(Fabric Connect) which is working great.   I am not running into any DHCP issues. 

Offline Dominik

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1564
    • Networkautobahn
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2014, 03:04:25 AM »
@adohen

Do you have 5.8 running on stacks ?
I have been running into an managemnt issue with SW5.7 in the combination of SPB and Stacks.
The prblem is that stacks with 6+ units can crash when they are configured via EDM or COM.
Would be interesting if you could give me a feedback for Stacks with SW 5.8

THX
Dominik
Itīs always the networks fault!
networkautobahn.com

Offline adohen

  • Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2014, 06:30:41 AM »
I have about 20 stacks running 5.8. 15 of which are running SPB.  5 are 6+, I haven't had issues yet.  I am more command line, but I've used edm with no problems in IE.

Offline Dominik

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1564
    • Networkautobahn
Re: New ERS 4000 Software v5.6.5
« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2014, 09:25:08 AM »
OK thanks for the feedback.
Year normally only the CLI is needed , but in some cases it is also nice to have a graphical UI.

I try out the update to 5.8 and hopefully the EDM issue is fixed with that update.
Itīs always the networks fault!
networkautobahn.com