• September 22, 2020, 12:47:51 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Registration is free.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: ERS 5500 DSCP Remarking  (Read 3395 times)

Offline Salias

• Rookie
ERS 5500 DSCP Remarking
« on: May 11, 2014, 09:39:28 PM »
Hello everyone,

I'll preface this with I am primarily a Cisco guy with some experience in Juniper. Nortel\Avaya and its CLI is fairly new to me. Essentially, I'm a newbie when it comes to NNCLI\ACLI

With that said, I've been trying to write a set of policies that will remark DSCP based on certain TCP\UDP ports on a specific VLAN.

I was originally going to try to approach this using an ACL, until I discovered ACLs are limited to 16 lines. I was also unsure of the ACL logic on Nortel. For instance, there appears to be an implicit deny at the end of the ACL, but will putting a drop-action disable as line 16 with no other criteria bypass the deny any any and move on to the next ACL? I haven't had time to test this out...

Anyway, I decided to set up a handful of policies. I created an interface group, then created ip elements specifying protocol (6 or 17) and dst-port-min to dst-port-max for TCP\UDP ports I wanted to remark. I also created a l2 element using vlan-min and vlan-max to define the VLAN. I declared classifiers, pairing each ip-element with the l2 element. I then created classifier blocks, grouping classifiers that will receive the same DSCP markings.

The classifier blocks are then attached to policies, with a precedence set and an action profile called for each. Each action called drop-action disable (because paranoid) and update-dscp.

The issue I'm running into is at the point of defining policies. I don't have the exact error in front of me, but it is essentially referencing an error due to a mismatch in classification masks (if I recall correctly, I don't have the stack in front of me).