Network Infrastructure Forums

Extreme / Avaya / Nortel => Extreme / Avaya / Nortel Ethernet Switching => Topic started by: TonsOfSteel on April 20, 2017, 10:11:15 AM

Title: Default Gateway not in use
Post by: TonsOfSteel on April 20, 2017, 10:11:15 AM
I have a switch that has been running in our environment for years. Recently I tried to access it and couldn't. I consoled in and found I couldn't ping the gateway or a DC controller on another subnet. I went into the IP configuration setup and found this:
IP Configuration/Setup


                 BootP/DHCP Request Mode:  [ BootP When Needed     ]


                                      Configurable          In Use       Last BootP/DHCP
                           -------------------  ---------------  ---------------In-Band Stack IP Address:  [ 0.0.0.0 ]          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0
In-Band Switch IP Address: [ 10.10.1.55 ]       10.10.1.55       0.0.0.0
In-Band Subnet Mask:       [ 255.255.255.0 ]    255.255.255.0    0.0.0.0

Default Gateway:           [ 10.10.1.1 ]             0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0

IP Address to Ping:        [ 0.0.0.0 ]
Start Ping:                [  No ]

Does in use just point to the 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 route?
In any event I can't get to it over the network and I cannot ping anything from the switch itself. Yet it passes traffic.

Thanks,
Bill
Title: Re: Default Gateway not in use
Post by: hopkins001 on April 20, 2017, 07:35:43 PM
Hey Bill,

Looks like Your Management VLAN isn't setup correctly. Verify which VLAN is marked as management and ensure that it is a member of a port that can be switched to reach the default gateway.
Title: Re: Default Gateway not in use
Post by: MatzeKS on April 21, 2017, 02:45:31 AM
Hi Bill,

maybe "ip routing" is enabled, therefore your DefGW is not in use.
Additionally an static route default route needs to be added/activated.

And of course the Mgmt-Vlan needs to be set correctly.

Good luck
Title: Re: Default Gateway not in use
Post by: miguel on April 21, 2017, 12:38:01 PM
try changing bootp-when-needed in configured-address
Title: Re: Default Gateway not in use
Post by: TonsOfSteel on April 23, 2017, 03:14:23 AM
Mgm-Vlan is correct.
I'll check if ip routing is enabled, thanks.
Never needed to deal with the bootp setting in my 6 years of managing these switches but I'll try it.
Thanks