• June 26, 2017, 09:50:03 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Registration is free.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Avaya ERS 8010- Operational guide  (Read 464 times)

Offline foysol_bgd

• Rookie
Avaya ERS 8010- Operational guide
« on: January 30, 2017, 05:34:17 PM »
Dear Experts,

I am looking for a operational guide documents for ERS-8010. I already have the administration guide and configuration guide. Here are my requirements. Any link or help will be great.

I am new to this platform. I know how to run basic commands and use the gui/jdm.

1. What will be the process to replace a faulty line card? Do I need to make sure the firmware version in line card match with the OS version in the switch. How can I know which firmware is compatible with what OS version? (I know how to do a proper pre and post check of the routing protocols and other configurations. This is more of a hardware and software of the chassis/cards).

2. Similar to point 1, what is the process to replace a faulty CPU and what are the necessary checks I should perform.

3. In HA mode (hot standby), what is the command to completely power -cycle the switch. What command will failover to secondary CPU and how to verify the synchronisation of forwarding tables.

Offline Michael McNamara

• Administrator
    • michaelfmcnamara
    • Michael McNamara
Re: Avaya ERS 8010- Operational guide
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2017, 12:10:54 PM »
Welcome back to the forums foysol_bgd.

1) It's going to depend entirely on the type of card... the early cards, you could just swap and replace. Later cards had FPGA and PIM software that you might need to update. You would need to engage Avaya support or consult the release notes to understand the minimum software release requirements.