• September 23, 2020, 12:02:39 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Registration is free.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: RFS4000 and AP7161 - steep WiNG learning curve for me  (Read 7906 times)

Offline Todd_R

• Rookie
RFS4000 and AP7161 - steep WiNG learning curve for me
« on: October 10, 2014, 12:32:39 PM »

Hello all,

Great forum, tons of information!

My background...I'm a Motorola radio tech with many years experience on that side of the business. I'm technically savvy, and know my way around computers. I'm not so savvy with networking...I muddle, I get by. I've taken many courses, don't get a chance to use what I learn much.

This landed on my bench this week to configure for a customer...one RFS4000, with five AP7161, and five Sanyo IP PTZ cameras. The sales guy was told by the supplier that the wireless equipment required "minimal field configuration".

No real documentation beyond basic installation guides with the equipment, so I jumped on the web. The support addresses in the guides are out of date & lead nowhere, so I Google around & find the WiNG 5.5 system reference guide...1152 pages, wow!

It's apparent this equipment is very versatile & can be made to do everything but wash dishes. I simply need to set it up to MESH the five APs together to give access to the hardwired IP cameras that hang on each AP from their head office through the RFS4000. I want to make it do this in as simple a configuration possible. Once I've shown the customer how it works in that fashion, I'll leave it to their IT department to play with the bells & whistles.   

I can access the Web UI in the RFS4000, and have gone through the setup wizard. I can plug the APs into the switch and they show up in the hardware lists. I can make them blink lights and reboot them, so they're definitely talking to the switch.