• November 27, 2020, 06:19:55 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Registration is free.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Having DHCP Issue on one SSID - RFS6000 and 5131 WAPs  (Read 3473 times)

Offline CaptDunsel

• Rookie
Having DHCP Issue on one SSID - RFS6000 and 5131 WAPs
« on: November 05, 2014, 05:16:10 PM »
Greetings.  I'm hoping to get a few pointers on tracking down a problem I'm having with one SSID on a WiFi network. 

First, I'm a relative noob at this.  I inherited IT management of 4 different wifi equipped warehouses, all using RFS6000 controllers and a variety of WAPs, and several different versions of WiNG.  What I knew of WiFi before this might wet the bottom of a thimble: After several weeks of digging through a number of issues, I'm now at the low-end of a lug-nut.

In the case of the present problem, the structure is two RFS6000's in a primary/secondary configuration running firmware version 4.4.2.0-001R (which I infer equates to WiNG 4.42?) with a mixture of 5131 and 650 WAPs.  There are two SSID's on the WiFi, one associated with WLAN 1 and the other with WLAN 4.  Each has a separate range defined in the DHCP service on the RFS6000's.

The observed behavior is that on SOME of the WAPs, a user connected to the SSID on WLAN1 will get a DHCP address, but a user connecting to the SSID on WLAN4 on the same WAP and the same radio will not get a DHCP address.  Use the same client device in the vicinity of the next WAP over, and it works fine.  Different WAPs appear to exhibit the behavior at different times. 

It seems to only affect the 5131's, but that is not definite.  The SSID in question is used mostly by office personnel and the office area is mostly covered by the 5131's.

On the controller GUI, I can see the devices connected but with no IP address, which is why I have inferred it was DHCP related.