• August 22, 2014, 07:45:58 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Registration is free.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Running Nortel i2004 phones on Asterisk  (Read 9438 times)

Offline hrpty

• Rookie
Running Nortel i2004 phones on Asterisk
« on: November 01, 2011, 05:33:03 PM »
Hello.  After nearly 2 weeks of trying to research this and try different configurations I finally have to break down and ask for help.

I am new to Asterisk and I am trying to setup and test run some i2004 phones that I purchased used.  I am now back to square one with a completely fresh install of AsteriskNOW 1.7.1 (Asterisk 1.6.2.11 and FreePBX 2.7.0.0).

I have read the other posts about configuring the i2004 phones for Asterisk however I am still getting the same results on the display of the i2004 phones every time.  ĻServer UnreachableĻ

I have these i2004s connected to a Baystack 460 running on PoE.  I have pinged the phone and it comes back fine.  I have pinged the server and it comes back fine.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Offline Michael McNamara

• Administrator
    • michaelfmcnamara
    • Michael McNamara
Re: Running Nortel i2004 phones on Asterisk
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2011, 06:14:18 PM »
Hi hrpty and welcome to the forums!

The i2004 and i2002 are almost identical so I would advise you check out this article I wrote a few years back.

http://blog.michaelfmcnamara.com/2009/02/asterisk-with-nortel-i2002-ip-phones/

You need to use the UNIStim channel driver (hopefully it's still in Asterisk) since these IP phones are not capable of SIP. You also didn't mentioned that you configured the IP phones with the IP address and port of the Asterisk server. You should be able to run Asterisk in debug mode (or perform a packet capture from the server) to see the IP phones attempting to connect.

Good Luck!

Cheers!
We've been helping network engineers, system administrators and technology professionals since June 2009.